Because we are a student-run publication, our reading periods run from September to October and from January to February. Any submissions received during these months will be held over and considered for the next reading period.

Terms and conditions can be found here: http://www.uwgb.edu/sheepshead/submit.asp
 
Specific Genre Guidelines are listed below.
 

**If you are a student or alumnus of UW-Green Bay, please remove your name from your submission.  If you are a current student please apply in the designated UWGB Student Categories.**
(This helps us keep our  "blind" submission review process as fair as possible.)

Thank you for your interest in Sheepshead Review!

Ends on March 1, 2017
We are looking for short memoirs, opinion pieces, narrative stories, interviews, profiles, subject pieces, eulogies, historical nonfiction narratives, and journals. We encourage narrative, stylistic, and substantive pieces that are unique, interesting, and creative. Remember to place quality over quantity.

Limit: 5,000 Words

**Please remove your name from your piece. If you are a current student, please submit to the UWGB Student Nonfiction category. **

Ends on March 1, 2017

We are looking for short memoirs, opinion pieces, narrative stories, interviews, profiles, subject pieces, eulogies, historical non-fiction narratives, and journals. We encourage narrative, stylistic, and substantive pieces that are unique, interesting, and creative. Remember to place quality over quantity. 

Limit: 5,000 Words

**Please remove your name from your piece.**


Ends on March 1, 2017

The Sheepshead Review poetry staff is looking for submissions with a honed edge—fresh and lucid content, palpable imagery, and an audible attention to sound. Cliché is your mortal enemy. We read free-verse to formal, and everything in between. And, don’t forget form can speak as much as your title, and your title as loud as your lines. Be bold. Be brilliant. Take risks. We look forward to reading your work. 
As always these are blind submissions; you will succeed on the merit of your lines.

While submissions to Sheepshead Review are allowed in any quantity, we ask that you please keep in mind we are a small student-run organization, and that you limit yourself to a maximum of five submissions. 

Please upload each poem as a separate submission rather than a single document. This helps us stay organized!

**Please remove your name from your piece. If you are a current student, please submit to the UWGB Student Poetry category. **


Ends on March 1, 2017

The Sheepshead Review poetry staff is looking for submissions with a honed edge—fresh and lucid content, palpable imagery, and an audible attention to sound. Cliché is your mortal enemy. We read free-verse to formal, and everything in between. And, don’t forget form can speak as much as your title, and your title as loud as your lines. Be bold. Be brilliant. Take risks. We look forward to reading your work. 
As always these are blind submissions; you will succeed on the merit of your lines.

While submissions to Sheepshead Review are allowed in any quantity, we ask that you please keep in mind we are a small student-run organization, and that you limit yourself to a maximum of five submissions. 

Please upload each poem as a separate submission rather than a single document. This helps us stay organized!

**Please remove your name from your piece.**


Ends on March 1, 2017

We are looking for work that shows quality craftsmanship, unique style, and expression of the artist. All mediums of visual art are welcome.
Please don’t send us an ear…

Submit: An image of your piece (well composed if photographing a 3D piece) and description of medium used.
Optional: A short description / explanation of your piece.
Size specifications: Minimum 2MB and 300 dpi.

**Please remove your name from your piece. If you are a current student, please submit to the UWGB Student Visual Arts category. **

**Once again we ask that you please list the medium, and size of the piece.**
Ends on March 1, 2017

We are looking for work that shows quality craftsmanship, unique style, and expression of the artist. All mediums of visual art are welcome.
Please don’t send us an ear…

Submit: An image of your piece (well composed if photographing a 3D piece) and description of medium used.
Optional: A short description / explanation of your piece.
Size specifications: Minimum 2MB and 300 dpi.

**Please remove your name from your piece.**
**Once again we ask you to please list the medium and size of the piece.**

Ends on March 1, 2017

We, the fiction staff, are looking for unique, well-crafted, pieces. This means everything is clearly explained and laid out. We are also prioritizing what we like to call the “perfect reader experience.” The reader should feel like they got something out of the story, and shouldn't feel dragged by a story’s length. Keeping the story interesting is a must, while never losing control of reality unless intentionally unrealistic. A fitting ending never hurt anyone either. While traditionally rooted stories are a staple of our journal, our staff also appreciates the strange and unusual. This doesn't mean we are looking for pieces with shock value; everything must be done in good taste.  

Limit: 5,000 words.

**Please remove your name from your piece. If you are a current student, please submit to the UWGB Student Fiction category. **


Ends on March 1, 2017

We, the fiction staff, are looking for unique, well-crafted, pieces. This means everything is clearly explained and laid out. We are also prioritizing what we like to call the “perfect reader experience.” The reader should feel like they got something out of the story, and shouldn’t feel dragged by a story’s length. Keeping the story interesting is a must, while never losing control of reality unless intentionally unrealistic. A fitting ending never hurt anyone either. While traditionally rooted stories are a staple of our journal, our staff also appreciates the strange and unusual. This doesn’t mean we are looking for pieces with shock value; everything must be done in good taste.  

Limit: 5,000 words.

**Please remove your name from your piece.**



Ends on March 1, 2017

New to Sheepshead Review is the High School Section. This is now an ongoing feature for the Spring issue of Sheepshead Review. High school students can submit up to 3 works in each genre-- Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Visual Arts--for consideration. Students should clearly mark the genre (nonfiction, fiction, poetry, visual arts) of their pieces and the name of his/her high school in either the title line or in the cover letter/biography section. 

Sheepshead Review is an internationally-distributed journal of the arts produced twice yearly by students at University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. Our selection process is competitive. If your submission is selected for publication, you will be notified by e-mail. Questions? Write us: sheepsheadreview@uwgb.edu .

Please DO NOT upload several poems in one document. Uploading each poem as its own submission makes it less likely that your poetry will get lost in the shuffle!

Again, please include the name of your CURRENT HIGH SCHOOL or indicate that you are HOME SCHOOLED.

Also-Please limit works of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry to 3000 words or less.